Almost a ruined Christmas

So for Christmas me and my husband bought our daughters theVTech InnoTab Max for the oldest and the VTech InnoTab 3S for the youngest. The Max is 130.00 on Amazon and the InnoTab 3S is 100.00. So they would have cost us 230.00 for the both of them if we didn’t get them on sale.

We opened them up a few days ago, and popped them on their chargers so that Christmas morning they would be ready to go. Today, I was going to register them, download a couple games, get their profiles setup, and etc. I’m fairly computer savvy so I thought this wouldn’t be hard at all.

Well… I was wrong I spent over an hour trying to figure out why on earth the plug and play was not working. I tried plugging it directly into the computer, next I tried using the CD, and then finally I went to the website to download the drivers straight from vtech.

This is where things get interesting… I discovered from there that the drivers weren’t accessible. I thought that was really weird, but okay next I call the support line which directs me once again to the website. So off I go looking for answers.

The answers I found though absolutely made my blood boil. I found out that around mid November they had experienced a breech of security. Okay… apparently after that they took all of their servers down. So what does that mean?

That means that I have two tablets that are a 230.00 paper weight. Until whatever time they get their servers back up. There is also no word when or if there servers will be back up any time soon let alone before Christmas.

All Vtech Support has had to say to all the parents on Amazon stating this in their review is this, “VTechkids Support
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you have had with setting up your unit on the Learning Lodge. We are aware of the issue with the Learning Lodge and our Team is diligently working on resolving it.”

I am going to be going back to Walmart tomorrow to fight to get my money back for these so I can order two Leap Pads instead… but I can’t stop there. All I can think about is all the parents that probably bought these on Back Friday wrapped them, and now they are sitting under the Christmas tree. I don’t want to know how all the children are going to feel Christmas morning after their parents realize that these won’t work if that server is not back up.

So I am making this post public so that everyone can share it. I am also going to be contacting the news to let them know about this as well.

http://www.vtechda.com/downloadpage/index.html
http://www.vtech.com/en/press_release/2015/statement/
http://www.amazon.com/…/B00MXTPI0S/ref=cm_cr_dp_see_all_btm…

Leave a Reply

